Our body is equipped with one more energy system, the chakra system, that needs to stay in balance if we want to be preserved from illness. This system is the first to show signs of imbalance.
There are seven chakras placed on a straight line from back bottom to crown of head along the spine. Every chakra draws in or lets out energy into the body. Each chakra is specifically connected to different body functions and organs. They are at the same time mutually related.

Eight Extra Meridians

It is illustrated as a four-petal lotus flower. The petals represent the four elements, earth, water, fire and wood. Red is the associated colour. According to Hindi tradition, the Kundalini energy rises from one chakra to the next to finally reach the Crown Chakra and become fully illuminated. The Root Chakra’s place is between sex organs and anus. It is a root of all life. Connected body parts are spine, bone frame, teeth, nails, legs, intestines, prostate and blood. Connected to suprarenal gland, it produces adrenaline rushes and wakes up the instinct of survival. It is associated with the sense of smell. The mantra is Lam.

SVADHISTHANA – The Sacral Chakra

This chakra’s symbol is a lotus flower with six petals. It influences sexual desires and passions. The principal issues are emotional balance and sexuality.The Sacral Chakra is located immediately below navel. Associated colour is orange, the one to promote creative energy. It has connection to glands for reproductive organs, ovaries, prostate and testicles. Its function is to control the bone structure, teeth, blood, lymphatic system and intestines. It has to do with hormones oestrogen and testosterone. It is associated with the sense of taste. The mantra is Vam.

MANIPURA – The Solar Plexus Chakra

Associated colour: yellow just as the Sun. It is depicted as a lotus flower of ten petals. It dwells under the chest at the point of junction of the ribs. It is here that our self-esteem is forged. This chakra regulates also life energy of the body. The principal issues are will power and personal force. The Solar Plexus Chakra determines how productive we are. It is connected to pancreas, liver and digestive system. Imbalance of this chakra provokes domination of the left, analytic brain lobe over the right, the creative one. The chakra is associated with the faculty of vision. The mantra is Ram.

ANAHATA – The Heart Chakra

Its symbol is a lotus flower of twelve petals. A meeting place and coexistence for body and spirit. Chakra located in the middle of the chest. Associated with forgiveness, empathy and unconditional love that makes us accept our fellow man. Its colour is green, related to teaching and healing.Through this chakra, we can develop true self-esteem. Its gland is thymus. Heart Chakra is associated with the sense of touch. The mantra is Yam.

VISHUDDHA – The Throat Chakra

It is the first one of the higher centres. The Throat Chakra has to do with communication, self-expression and creativity by sound. To develop Throat Chakra means to choose words that make conversation meaningful instead of just being a chat. Only after having worked with the four lower chakras can we achieve the necessary purity to open the Throat Chakra. The symbol of it is a lotus flower with 16 petals. Colour match is blue.The Throat Chakra dwells just above the jugular cavity (throat cavity). Its glands are thyroid and parathyroid. Chakra associated with hearing. The mantra is Ham.

AJNA – The Third Eye Chakra

Physical eyes are our instrument with which we can perceive the material world while the seventh chakra, ”The Third Eye” gives us ability to apprehend such things that we do not have solid proofs of such as when we have a premonition, can feel somebody watching us.This chakra’s symbol is a lotus flower with two petals. Its location is in the middle of the forehead,between and on the same level as the eyebrows. The colour is dark blue. It has been attributed to the pituitary gland. This chakra answers for ideas and fantasy. Without it we cannot create our dreams. The Third Eye is associated with intuition. Ksham is the mantra.

SAHASRARA -The Crown Chakra

It is symbolised by a thousand- petal lotus flower, synonym of infinity. To develop the six lower chakras is like getting closer, step by step, to the ultimate goal – enlightment, self-realisation and perfection. The crown chakra is the seat of divine will, wisdom and meaning. It is associated with the pineal gland. The colours of this chakra are violet, white and gold, violet as the colour of mysticism and spirituality. White also posesses a high spiritual vibration. Gold is the colour of forgiveness. When we wake the Crown Chakra, we open up for infinity in time and space. But the journey to it is both long and laborious. It also takes time. Therefore, we need to incarnate many times before getting there. The mantra is Om.

header menu